Composed by Lucas Richman
Words by Various
Length: 15:00
Instrumentation: A cappella SATB Chorus
Ensemble: A Capella


is a choral work for A Capella SATB chorus in seven movements which combines poetry about agoraphobia with Hawai’ian poetry about the wide-open spaces. The individual movements examine the various levels of anxiety induced by isolation as experienced by many over the course of the pandemic. As the work progresses, through musical entrainment, the stress levels are reduced, resulting in the steady calm of synchronized breathing.


Join the Commission Consortium!

Fee for Commission Consortium Membership: $250

All ensembles joining the consortium will be acknowledged in all published scores of Breathe and will receive 50 (fifty) printed choral scores, inclusive of the commission fee.

Available May, 2024.

To join the Breathe Commission Consortium contact us at

Additional Choral Music by Lucas Richman