Concertino for Oboe: Move On (for Solo Oboe and String Quintet)

Composed by Lucas Richman
Length: 11:00
Instrumentation: Solo Oboe, String Quintet
Category: Chamber Music
Ensemble: Sextet
Instrument / Voice: Violin, Viola, Cello, Contrabass, Oboe

Move On musicalizes the human tendency to get trapped in certain ideas and situations, as well as the number of times the manifestation of those tendencies are repeated before climbing out of the inevitable rut. The mournful and contemplative qualities of the first two movements (emphasized by moments of sheer frustration) give way to the celebratory and happy-go-lucky third movement. Melodic motifs and rhythmic gestures are shared between the movements not only as reminders of past encounters but also as reminders that suggest one must maintain one’s ability to adjust and…move on.

Move On was completed on June 11, 1988, subsequently receiving its world premiere in concert with oboist Francisco Castillo and the composer conducting members of the composers collective group, the Lo Cal Composers Ensemble (Los Angeles). Performance time is approximately 11 minutes.

This 3-movement work can be performed with full string orchestra or as a work of chamber music with string quintet.